Skip to content

Do Monsters Tweet?

07/07/2010

I joined twitter.  No, seriously.  I still haven’t figured out what the hell I’m supposed to do with it, but I hope it’ll turn out to be a good way to share links and ideas which don’t warrent a full post.  Also, updates to the shop/embroidery pattern collection/whatever else.

And maybe some microbiology.  I’ve really been wanting to talk microbiology lately, and haven’t quite figured out how to fit it into a craft blog.  I’m going to have to craft smallpox or something to get my nerd on, aren’t I?

Any hints, twitter folk?  What’s this thing for?  How does it work?  Tweet tweet?

In other news: embroidery pattern!

I call him the Littlest Monster.  He comes with all the usual info, a la “clicking on the image should bring up a larger version, which you can then save to your own computer and use as you will.”  Also, I release these free bits of line art (drawn by me, from my strange little brain) under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial license.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

You are allowed and indeed encouraged to do whatever you want with the piece(s) (use, reuse, abuse, remix, share), just follow these two simple rules:

1) Give me credit (a link back is always appreciated- that way, everyone else knows they can use it too)
2) Don’t make a profit off any use or modification of my work.

To be fair, should you really want to use them in a profit-making venture, talk to me and maybe we can work something out so everybody wins.  Should you want to say thanks, leave a comment and/or tell a friend or six.  Finally, if you do make something, let me know and I’ll happily blog it!

You can find a reminder/introduction to embroidery, including basic stitches and a by-no-means exhaustive list of methods of transferring patterns to fabric in this post (there’s also a good round-up here).  Finally: if you’ve got suggestions for embroidery patterns you’d like to see, I would love to hear them (no promises, though).  You can find the rest of my patterns under the Embroidery Patterns category.

I’m starting to daydream about selling embroidery patterns.  Imagine a whole set of little monsters doing monster-y things!  Zombies?  Pirates?  Zombie Pirates vs. Ninjas?  Maybe a science nerd themed sheet, or a bunch of dragons, or other mythological critters, or cephalopods (I couldn’t just do a single ocean sheet; the oceans are too large).

Embroidery patterns for the morbid, the odd, the utterly geeky.  Yes.  I approve of this idea.

I still haven’t figured out how iron-on embroidery patterns are printed, though.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/16/2010 11:27 AM

    Have you ever been to the Turkey Feathers blog? Vicki also runs the Pattern Bee site where whe sells iron-on embroidery oatterns reproduced from vintage designs. She might be someone you could ask. I love your monster, by the way. Love those teeth. :)

  2. 07/16/2010 11:30 AM

    This might help: http://turkeyfeathers.typepad.com/

  3. 08/17/2010 2:01 AM

    It would be cool if you sold some of your patterns, specially if they were nerdy (big science nerd here)

  4. Viscid permalink
    10/12/2010 4:15 PM

    I must say, I wish you WOULD talk microbiology. Or any interesting sciency bits. Your fit may be over, as it’s no longer ASugust, but feel welcome.

Leave a comment