Skip to content

Giraffes and Their Spots

02/20/2009

Two days and I’ve already got another free pattern or two ready to go. In celebration of finishing and quite possibly rocking my Cell Biology exam this morning, I give you: a giraffe!


Giraffe?

Well, kind of. Just in case you’re not so into the Giraffe-and-Stars thing, I pulled all the stars off the poor gal and left her naked just for you:


Naked Giraffe

That way you can fill in your own random shapes and motifs (skulls? hearts? paisley giraffe?), or *gasp* even try your hand at the many sorts of actual giraffe spots.

I think I’d like to try slapping a Creative Commons license on these things. I’ve never done it before and it seems like a good idea. Let’s see…

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

Ta da! In translation, you can do whatever you want with the piece(s) (use, reuse, abuse, remix, share), just give me a nod and don’t use it for profit. Well, maybe you could use it for profit, if you talked to me first and got permission for the whole commercial thing. Really, I just want to keep track of where she goes, and want anyone who wants the pattern to know where to find it.

Random interlude: I once did a report on giraffes back in elementary school whose centerpiece was a 3+ foot tall paper mache critter my mother and I made, which I lovingly named Mable. She had a tongue and everything, and lived in my room for YEARS. End random interlude.

As before, if you click on your desired picture once, then click on it again, the ubermassive full-res image should come up. Save and resize and use as you see fit. Also, if you need a reminder (or first introduction) to embroidery stitches and/or how to transfer line art to fabric, check out this post!

Three final points: a) if you use these patterns I’d love to see your final product, b) if you’ve got suggestions for embroidery patterns you’d like to see, my ears are open, and c) all my patterns are/will be posted under the “embroidery patterns” tag and thus can be found here.

Happy stitching!

No comments yet

Leave a comment