Skip to content

Science Love!

01/19/2010

I am a Microbiology nerd. A big one. A nigh-on shameful one. Microbiology -and particularly, the microbiology of pathogenic organisms- fascinates and delights and, at the same time, saddens and challenges me. This is a field where great beauty meets great danger, and thus creates great need. This is, I hope, my life.

So of course I’ve got to embroider it.

And in addition:

I’ve always kind of wanted a biohazard trefoil tattoo. Two problems, however: a) not sure I want a tattoo and b) every uneducated “I’m a badass, honest!” punker has a biohazard tattoo, to the point that its association, in the tattoo world, is not the science. So hey. Maybe adding a heart would take down the “badass” factor a notch, and increase the “science love!” factor. Maybe.

Fine print time!

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

You are encouraged to do whatever you want with the piece(s) (use, reuse, abuse, remix, share), just follow these two simple rules:

1) Give me credit (a link back would be preferred)
2) Don’t make a profit off any use or modification of my work.

To be fair, should you really want to use them in a profit-making venture, talk to me and maybe we can work something out. Should you want to say thanks, tell a friend or six. I love links. If you do make something, I’d love to see it- really!

To get the full-resolution image, click on your desired picture once, then click on it again. Save it to your computer, then resize, crop, print and use as you see fit. You can find a reminder/introduction to embroidery, including basic stitches and the all-important “how to transfer your pattern to your fabric” links in this post!

Finally: if you’ve got suggestions for embroidery patterns you’d like to see, I would love to hear them (no promises, though), and if you would like to see all of my growing collection of free embroidery patterns, look at the embroidery patterns tag.)

No comments yet

Leave a comment