Skip to content

Brrr.

12/26/2011

Happy day after Christmas! Did you survive?

I worked 9 PM Christmas Eve to 7:30 AM Christmas morning, got a couple of hours of sleep, then was called back in at noon to work 8 hours on a couple of time-sensitive samples.  It made for the most unremarkable Christmas I’ve ever had, but that’s okay- the work I did allows for organ transplants to go forward, and you’ve got to figure I played a role in making Christmas very, very good for some of the families on the transplant wait list.

It also gave me a little time to doodle, and with all the snow Denver’s faced lately, my doodles took a particularly seasonal theme.

I doodled you guys a new embroidery pattern.  I quite like this one, even though it does have a disappointing lack of tentacles.

The Yeti

Even Yetis bundle up in the winter cold.

My Christmas may have been unremarkable, but I have today off and I plan (after a quick morning trip to the DMV) to indulge myself in a belated, personal holiday celebration. And also clean; my place is utterly trashed after this workweek.  But funnily enough, I’ve found that when it’s my own little apartment and my own little mess and I have no other pressing demands for the day, cleaning itself is a kind of indulgence.

Click on the picture, and you’ll get the full-res.  I release these free bits of line art under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial license.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License.

You are allowed and indeed encouraged to do whatever you want with the piece(s) (use, reuse, abuse, remix, share, and of course, embroider), just follow these two simple rules:

1) Give me credit (a link back is always appreciated- that way, everyone else knows they can use it too)
2) Don’t make a profit off any use or modification of my work.

To be fair, I won’t sue you or anything if you don’t give me credit- I’ll just feel all hurt, and no one wants that.  Also to be fair, should youreally want to use them in a profit-making venture (ie: stitch it on something you then sell in your etsy store, use it as a print for your own fabric line, etc.), talk to me and maybe we can work something out so everybody wins.  Should you want to say thanks, leave a comment and/or tell a friend or six.  Finally, if you do make something, embroidery or not, let me know and I’ll happily blog it!

You can find a reminder/introduction to embroidery, including basic stitches and a by-no-means exhaustive list of methods of transferring patterns to fabric in this post (there’s also a good round-up here and another one here).  Finally: if you’ve got suggestions for embroidery patterns you’d like to see, I would love to hear them (no promises, though).  You can find the rest of my patterns under the Embroidery Patterns category.

Stay warm, my friends.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/27/2011 9:15 AM

    Funnily enough, I like your Yeti quite a bit. Thanks for sharing!

  2. spidermom permalink
    01/02/2012 10:44 AM

    hahaha love the pic and the yeti too! thanks!

    • 02/08/2012 4:31 AM

      I can’t take credit for the pic, but it would certainly make this damn snow more fun if it were true. I’m not sure how much more winter I can take!

  3. 01/17/2012 2:03 PM

    Adorable! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Lauren permalink
    05/07/2012 3:19 PM

    YIKES! Love him! Thanks!

Leave a comment